Smokey 2020-022's Web Page

German Shepherd Dog (medium coat)  : :  Male  : :  Young  : :  X-Large


More Pics...

Interested in adopting?

Sponsor This Pet

About Smokey 2020-022

  • Status: Available for Adoption (adoption info)
  • Species: Dog
  • Rescue ID: 2020-022
  • General Color: Black with Gray or Silver
  • Fence Required: Yes(6 foot)
  • Housetrained: Yes
  • Obedience Training Needed: Needs Training
  • Exercise Needs: High
  • Owner Experience Needed: Breed
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

*****READ ALL THE WAY THRU****

 Hi my name is Smokey, 1 1/2 year old and for those of you who don't know I was bred by a breeder in KY and then starved because I did not have the conformation he was looking for in a show dog and then finally ended up in this place they call a shelter.  But my life took a turn for the better when Promises Animal Rescue decided to save me!  Pilots and Paws generous volunteer flew me from KY to VA where I met my foster family.  I was so excited but rode like a gentleman on my freedom ride to my foster home.  Once in my foster home everything was new to me and these things called stairs I had never used so I launched myself down all 6, I've gotten better with stairs but will step down 3 and then jump.  I met my foster fur brother and sister outside on leash and they were a bit turned off by me because I constantly wanted to play and mount them which my fur sister was especially not pleased by.  I was neutered on 25th of June.  I am still very high energy and would do best in a very active home.  I can be monthly at times when I want to play with humans or dogs but can redirect it enforced.  My foster parents think I should avoid small children because I have no body awareness and will knock them over.  I may do well with a dog that would want to play but no couch potatoes for me.  I am your typical young shepherd, chew on things I should not, protective over my people, picky when it comes to food, rambunctious, curious, and need a handler who will be firm with me as I tend to test boundaries.  I am your shadow whether you want one or not or as I've heard it called velcro shepherd. I am learning the finer finer things in life like bully sticks (you'll have to hold it for me to eat), raw marrow bones, fish, and get spoiled with kibble and some wet food.  I've put on some weight but when I came in you could count my ribs and my tail was missing fur and I was very itchy.  I am doing much better with these people called my fosters. I've learned to play with toys and will chase a frisbee and bring it back with some coaxing.  Still my favorite chews are flip flops and workout mats  ; ).  I sleep through the night on my dog bed, a generous neighbor gave me or up on the bed if you let me.  I will let you know around 7 am it is time to get up by barking at you.  But my foster mom says how can you resist that face, I don't know what that means.  During CoVID 19 my foster parents have been around alot and I love when they are home and like to be with them.  I'm mostly potty trained but have had an accident once in a while so my new family will need to take me out every 3 hours if you want to instill house breaking.  Finally, I just want a family to call my own and I promise I will shower you with kisses and be ever so thankful.  Yours Truly, Smokey

More about Smokey 2020-022

Good with Dogs, Good with Older/Considerate Kids Only, Good with Adults, Does Good in the Car, Requires a yard, Cratetrained, Likes to play with toys, Playful, Affectionate, Eager To Please

Other Pictures of Smokey 2020-022 (click to see larger version):

Smokey 2020-022 Smokey 2020-022